Commissioners of the year 2022 school board association

At the N.C. School Boards Association’s conference in Greensboro, four Columbus County commissioners pose Tuesday with their 2022 Commissioners of the Year plaque. They are joined by members of the Columbus County Board of Education, who nominated them for the recognition. Left to right are Deanne Meadows, CCS superintendent; Ricky Bullard, board of commissioners chair; Jerome McMillian, board of commissioners vice-chair; Steve Long, board of education member; Ronnie Strickland, board of education chair; Charles McDowell, commissioner; Lavern Coleman, commissioner; Randy Coleman, board of education vice-chair; Eddie Madden, county manager; and Jonathan Williams, CCS associate superintendent. Contributed photo

The N.C. School Boards Association named the Columbus County Board of Commissioners as the 2022 “Commissioners of the Year” during a conference Tuesday in Greensboro.

Four commissioners and County Manager Eddie Madden were present to accept the honor. The Columbus County Board of Education nominated the commissioners in September.